WXDU 88.7 FM Duke University Radio PLAYLISTS: Current | Past 10 Days LISTEN NOW: MP3 (default) / Ogg
Make a Request
make a request online
Contact Us
WXDU 88.7 FM
PO Box 90689
Duke Station
Durham, NC 27708
WXDU's Mission
WXDU, as a member of the Duke University Union, exists to inform, educate, and entertain both the students of Duke University and the surrounding community of Durham through quality progressive alternative radio programming. WXDU seeks to give its staff the freedom to pursue their personal aesthetic within the framework of a cohesive format. WXDU aims to provide the listener with an alternative viewpoint untainted by commercial interests. WXDU resolves to maintain good relations with the music industry without compromising its integrity and nationally recognized commitment to quality programming. WXDU resolves to remain a laboratory where all members are free to make and learn from their mistakes.

"Musical Odyssey" with Professor G (archive)

Thursday, September 29, 2022 | 16:00 to 18:00 | Playlist

New Artist Song Album Label Comments
Yusef Lateef Like It Is The Blue Yusef Lateef Atlantic 1968 release
Jon Lucien Search for the Inner Self 7" Ampex 1971 release
Cymande Fug Second Time Around Janus 1973 release
* The Comet Is Coming Pyramids Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam Impulse! 4th album: Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings
Steve Reid Ensemble Lions of Juda Spirit Walk Soul Jazz Records 2005 release, with Kieran Hebden on electronics
Pharoah Sanders Promises (Movement 1) Promises Luaka Bop
Pharoah Sanders Thembi Thembi Impulse! 1971 release
Pharoah Sanders Rejoice Rejoice Evidence 1992 release
Pharoah Sanders Hum-Allah-Hum-Allah-Hum-Allah Jewels of Thought Impulse! 1969 release
Pharoah Sanders Japan Tauhid Impulse! 1967 release
Pharoah Sanders You've Got to Have Freedom Live Evidence Recorded in 1981 at The Maiden Voyage, LA
* Danger Mouse & Black Thought Belize (feat. MF Doom) (clean) Cheat Codes BMG
DST + Jalaluddin Mansur Nuriddin Mean Machine 12" Celluloid 1984 release (Jalal of the Last Poets)
* Sampa the Great Imposter Syndrome (feat. James Sakala) (Clean) As Above, So Below Loma Vista / Concord
* Yaya Bey pour up feat DJ Nativesun (clean) Remember Your North Star Big Dada
* The Soft Pink Truth Is It Gonna Get Any Deeper Than This? (Dark Room Mix) Was It Ever Real? Thrill Jockey Drew Daniel is one half of the duo Matmos
Patrick Cowley Pagan Rhythms School Daze Dark Entries
* Wu-Lu South LOGGERHEAD Warp
Dean Blunt Mersh Black Metal Rough Trade 2014 release
Young Fathers Fee Fi Cocoa Sugar Ninja Tune 2018 release
* Dendrons Interlude (Adjusting to the Light) 5-3-8 Innovative Leisure
* Reynols Etrol Rene 5043 Tolin Asumer Carbon/Feeding Tube
* The Lord & Petra Haden Ma Anand Sheela Devotional Southern Lord
* Marisa Anderson In Dark Water Still, Here Thrill Jockey
* Jeff Parker / Eric Revis / Nasheet Waits Similar Limits Eastside Romp RogueArt