WXDU 88.7 FM Duke University Radio PLAYLISTS: Current | Past 10 Days LISTEN NOW: MP3 (default) / Ogg
Make a Request
make a request online
Contact Us
WXDU 88.7 FM
PO Box 90689
Duke Station
Durham, NC 27708
WXDU's Mission
WXDU, as a member of the Duke University Union, exists to inform, educate, and entertain both the students of Duke University and the surrounding community of Durham through quality progressive alternative radio programming. WXDU seeks to give its staff the freedom to pursue their personal aesthetic within the framework of a cohesive format. WXDU aims to provide the listener with an alternative viewpoint untainted by commercial interests. WXDU resolves to maintain good relations with the music industry without compromising its integrity and nationally recognized commitment to quality programming. WXDU resolves to remain a laboratory where all members are free to make and learn from their mistakes.

"Musical Odyssey" with Professor G (archive)

Thursday, January 13, 2022 | 16:00 to 18:00 | Playlist

New Artist Song Album Label Comments
Sam Gendel & Sam Wilkes BOA Music for Saxofone & Bass Guitar Leaving Records 2018 reissue (originally released as a white label)
* Priori 2-9-1 Your Own Power NUFF aka Francis Latrielle, his 2nd album, NUFF label head
* Foodman Yasuragi Yasuragi Land Hyperdub Japanese producer Takahide Higuchi
* Koreless Joy Squad Agor Young Welsh electronic producer Lewis Roberts
* quickly, quickly Phases (feat. Sharrif Simmons) the Long and Short of It Ghostly International 21 year old Portland artist Graham Jonson; spoken word by Sharrif Simmons
* Loraine James We're Building Something New Reflection Hyperdub 3rd LP
Navigator & Freestyles Ruffneck All England Story: From Dancehall to Grime-25 Years of the MC in the UK 1983-2008 Soul Jazz
* Matthew Dear Hikers Y Preacher's Sigh and Potions: Lost Album Ghostly International
* al Riggs GFC (LGT BIZ) Oh Good It's al Riggs Husky Pants Songs recorded 2019-2021
Bill Callahan Free's Apocalypse Drag City
Kuumba-Toudie-Heath Kamili Kawaida REEL 1970 release, reissued in 2020. RIP James Mtume.
Miles Davis Black Satin On the Corner Columbia 1972 release, Mtume on percussion
Carlos Garnett Mother of the Future Black Love Muse 1974 release, Mtume on percussion
Gary Bartz Music Is My Sanctuary Music Is My Sanctuary Capitol Records 1977 release, Mtume on percussion
Sounds of Liberation New Horizons Sounds of Liberation Porter RIP Khan Jamal
Matthew Shipp Vamp to Vibe Equilibrium Thirsty Ear 2002 release, Khan Jamal on vibraphone
Jemeel Moondoc High Rise Konstanze's Delight Soul Note Recorded live in New York, Oct 24, 1981, released in 1983
* Ava Mendoza Don't Look New Spells Astral Spirits
Tortoise Minors Beacons of Ancestorship Thrill Jockey 2009 release
* Tyler Baum Shh! The Slug! Zwulkabemipthfojnyd self-released Plays with Don Telling's Island Mysteries
* Sally Anne Morgan Through the Threshold Cups Thrill Jockey Follow up to her 2020 album Thread
* Parquet Courts Trullo Sympathy for Life Rough Trade
Teenage Jesus & The Jerks I Woke Up Dreaming No New York Lilith Produced by Brian Eno; compilation of New York no-wave bands
Battles Ice Cream (feat. Matias Aguayo) Gloss Drop Warp 2011 release
Ettika Ettika Chebran Vol 2: French Boogie 1979-1982 Born Bad Records
Herbie Hancock Fat Albert Rotunda Mwandishi Warner