WXDU 88.7 FM Duke University Radio PLAYLISTS: Current | Past 10 Days LISTEN NOW: MP3 (default) / Ogg
Make a Request
make a request online
Contact Us
WXDU 88.7 FM
PO Box 90689
Duke Station
Durham, NC 27708
WXDU's Mission
WXDU, as a member of the Duke University Union, exists to inform, educate, and entertain both the students of Duke University and the surrounding community of Durham through quality progressive alternative radio programming. WXDU seeks to give its staff the freedom to pursue their personal aesthetic within the framework of a cohesive format. WXDU aims to provide the listener with an alternative viewpoint untainted by commercial interests. WXDU resolves to maintain good relations with the music industry without compromising its integrity and nationally recognized commitment to quality programming. WXDU resolves to remain a laboratory where all members are free to make and learn from their mistakes.

"Musical Odyssey" with Professor G (archive)

Thursday, September 30, 2021 | 16:00 to 18:00 | Playlist

New Artist Song Album Label Comments
African Head Charge Dervish Chant Songs of Praise On-U-Sound With Bongo Iyabinghi Noah and Sonny Akpan on percussion, 1990 release
Andy Stott New Ground Passed By Me EP Modern Love 2011 release, Manchester producer
Tabla Beat Science Secret Channel (Bedouin Ascent remix) Tala Matrix 12" Axiom 2001 release
Talvin Singh Traveller OK Island 1998 release
* Cabaret Voltaire Runaway Groovy, Laidback and Nasty Parlophone
* Teno Afrika Ambassadors feat. Diego Don, Stylo Musiq, & Flame Darula Amapiano Selections Awesome Tapes From Africa
* Harto FGC 8 A.M. Voces Voces Voces Galleta Records
Brother Ali Sleepwalker Champion EP Rhymesayers 2004 release
* Les Filles de Illighadad Chakalan At Pioneer Works Sahel Sounds
* Ilhan Ersahin’s Istanbul Sessions Furu Semu Bir Zamanlar Simdi Nublu
* Matt LaJoie Sunrise on Magic Meadow Paraclete Tongue Flower Room
Dr Lonnie Smith Caravan The Turbinator 32 Jazz 2000 release, Jimmy Ponder on guitar, Houston Person on tenor saxophone, Buster Williams on bass, Buddy Williams on drums, Dr Lonnie Smith on organ
The Blackbyrds Time Is Movin' Unfinished Business Fantasy Records 1976 release
Odyssey Broken Road Odyssey Tamla Motown 1972 release
* Permanent On The Lips Social Disease Modern Tapes
* Japanese Breakfast Slide Tackle Jubilee Dead Oceans
* TORRES Kiss the Corners Thirstier Merge
* Joy Orbison runnersz still slipping vol. 1 XL Recordings
Little Simz might bang, might not Drop 6 (CLEAN) AGE 101 / AWAL
James Brown The Payback The Payback Polydor
Tomorrow's People Hurt Perversion Open Soul Melodies International 1976 release